News:

Be sure to tell your friends about NinSheetMusic!

Main Menu

The Arranging Process

Started by Latios212, February 14, 2015, 04:55:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Latios212

After reading lots of posts from Bespinben and others, I just have a few questions for the experienced arrangers around here, regarding the arranging process and things like that:

Do you always transcribe everything entirely by ear?
How do you feel about MIDIs taken from games and particularly other sites/people on YouTube who arrange VGM too? They're usually not as good as the ones here but do you ever draw inspiration from them? I see people allude to them now and then but do they ever affect your work?
How much freedom do you have when arranging? That is, the amount of creativity/rearrangement present in your arrangements as opposed to matching the original note for note.

I'm just curious because I'm still pretty new at this and want to know what factors go into making an arrangement. Thanks!
My arrangements and YouTube channel!

Quote from: Dudeman on February 22, 2016, 10:16:37 AM
who needs education when you can have WAIFUS!!!!!

Spoiler
[close]
turtle

Maelstrom

I do not take any inspiration from elsewhere. If I can't figure out the notes by ear, I don't arrange it.

As for freedom, it is much more present in orchestral pieces where you have too many voices to directly transcribe it. You can make a few adjustments to increase playability, but you should try to stick to the original as closely as possible. Take something like "Serpent Devouring the Horizon" (on youtube). It has way, way too many voices to be able to transcribe everything accurately. Yet, you get to be creative and chose how you want to represent the voices best. Additionally ,you can fill out chords as much as you want, provided it is really a chord. Just have fun.  :P

MaestroUGC