News:

Using cutting-edge ray tracing technology, our sheets appear 69% more realistic than the leading bargain brand!

Main Menu

Finale price

Started by Maelstrom, May 08, 2014, 03:35:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maelstrom

First, I'm not sure this qualifies as site help, but I coudn't find any better place to put it.

So, my neighbor has finale 2011 (bought for student price) and offered to sell it to me at $150. I assume this is a good deal, but it can't use the files I've been working on in 2012 notepad. I also found finale 2014 here for $247.90, student/education price. I assume you need to prove some way that you need it for school. Being homeschooled, would my mom be able to require it for school and have that count? Or would it just be better for me to get songwriter for $50?

Olimar12345

Personally I'd go for the 2014 version. When I did the student discount they didn't ask if I needed it, just if I was a student. d:
Visit my site: VGM Sheet Music by Olimar12345 ~ Quality VGM sheet music available for free!

Maelstrom

What does the '14 version have that others don't? I've heard it can be a little buggy.......

Olimar12345

Well, they're ALL buggy. The newer the version, the more features and tech support you get.
Visit my site: VGM Sheet Music by Olimar12345 ~ Quality VGM sheet music available for free!

Maelstrom

Wait, how buggy?

It has an auto save, right?

Olimar12345

Not very, and if you're new to the program you probably won't find any problems at all. They all have auto save functions.

Maelstrom

Lastly, what features on '14 are worth the extra $100?

Olimar12345

Personally, I didn't think it was worth upgrading (I still use 2012). For these programs, If you get one full version, you can make it last. It's your call. I originally posted saying to get the 2014 version because I misread and thought that the 2011 was a lower product.

Maelstrom

Is there any possible way to edit my Notepad files on '11? I have some unfinished business.