News:

Congratulations!! You, yes, YOU, dear user, have been selected for the "You Read This News Item" award! Click here for your prize!!

Main Menu

Help Figuring Out Instrumentation

Started by MasterProX, January 09, 2013, 11:19:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MasterProX

As you can see in the video above, this is the 25th Anniversary version of Gerudo Valley from The Legend of Zelda. I was trying to arrange this for my school's symphonic orchestra, and I already have most of the notes written out, I figured out the key signature, and the tempo...

...but I'm having trouble figuring out what damned instruments are used in this song. (I'm not an expert on identifying brass instruments and such using the sound.)

TL;DR, could someone list all the instruments used in this song?

Clanker37

In no particular or accurate order:

Violin
Viola
Cello
Snare
Wood Slap (IDK the real name :P)
Xylophone/Marimba
Tuba
Trombone
Trumpet
Bass Drum
Timpani
Flue
Picollo
French Horn
Clarinet?
Crash Cymbal
The big cymal thing-you-hit-and-it's-on-a-drum-kit-and-I-forgot-the-name
Tubular Bells

I'm probably missing some, but that's what I heard. :P

Bloop

Quote from: Clanker37 on January 10, 2013, 06:43:19 AMThe big cymal thing-you-hit-and-it's-on-a-drum-kit-and-I-forgot-the-name
Ride cymbal?

Olimar12345

There's an easier way to go about this: it's a modern symphony orchestra. You can tell by the videos on YouTube of the other songs they played:

Visit my site: VGM Sheet Music by Olimar12345 ~ Quality VGM sheet music available for free!

MasterProX

Quote from: Olimar12345 on January 10, 2013, 09:47:02 AMThere's an easier way to go about this: it's a modern symphony orchestra. You can tell by the videos on YouTube of the other songs they played:

Ah. I see. At first I thought I didn't hear some instruments though, that's why I asked.

Another small question, what's that percussion instrument that plays on every other beat in the beginning?

Olimar12345